The 2021 Day sale the Crayons Quit sale

The 2021 Day sale the Crayons Quit sale

The 2021 Day sale the Crayons Quit sale
The 2021 Day sale the Crayons Quit sale__right
The 2021 Day sale the Crayons Quit sale__below
The 2021 Day sale the Crayons Quit sale__front
The 2021 Day sale the Crayons Quit sale_top
The 2021 Day sale the Crayons Quit sale__left





Description

Product Description

The hilarious, colorful #1 New York Times bestselling phenomenon that every kid wants! Gift a copy to someone you love today.

Poor Duncan just wants to color. But when he opens his box of crayons, he finds only letters, all saying the same thing: His crayons have had enough! They quit! Blue crayon needs a break from coloring all those bodies of water. Black crayon wants to be used for more than just outlining.  And Orange and Yellow are no longer speaking—each believes he is the true color of the sun. What can Duncan possibly do to appease all of the crayons and get them back to doing what they do best?

With giggle-inducing text from Drew Daywalt and bold and bright illustrations from Oliver Jeffers, The Day the Crayons Quit is the perfect gift for new parents, baby showers, back-to-school, or any time of year! Perfect for fans of  Don''t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems and The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Sciezka and Lane Smith. 

Praise for The Day the Crayons Quit:

Amazon’s 2013 Best Picture Book of the Year
A Barnes & Noble Best Book of 2013
Goodreads’ 2013 Best Picture Book of the Year 
Winner of the E.B. White Read-Aloud Award

* “Hilarious . . . Move over,  Click, Clack, Moo; we’ve got a new contender for the most successful picture-book strike.” – BCCB, starred review 

“Jeffers . . . elevates crayon drawing to remarkable heights.” – Booklist

“Fresh and funny.” – The Wall Street Journal

"This book will have children asking to have it read again and again.” – Library Media Connection

* “This colorful title should make for an uproarious storytime.” – School Library Journal, starred review 

* “These memorable personalities will leave readers glancing apprehensively at their own crayon boxes.” – Publishers Weekly, starred review 

“Utterly original.” – San Francisco Chronicle

Amazon.com Review

Amazon Best Children''s Book of 2013: The Day the Crayons Quit, Drew Daywalt’s clever story of a box of crayons gone rogue will get the whole family laughing at the letters written by the occupants of the ubiquitous yellow and green box. The combination of text and Oliver Jeffers'' illustrations match the colors'' personalities beautifully as the crayons share their concern, appreciation, or downright frustration: yellow and orange demand to know the true color of the sun, while green--clearly the people pleaser of the bunch--is happy with his workload of crocodiles, trees, and dinosaurs. Peach crayon wants to know why his wrapper was torn off, leaving him naked and in hiding; blue is exhausted and, well, worn out; and pink wants a little more paper time. The result of this letter writing campaign is colorful creativity and after reading this book I will never look at crayons the same way again--nor would I want to. --- Seira Wilson

From Booklist

Duncan’s crayons are on strike. One morning he opens his desk looking for them and, in their place, finds a pack of letters detailing their grievances, one crayon at a time. Red is tired. Beige is bored. Black is misunderstood. Peach is naked! The conceit is an enticing one, and although the crayons’ complaints are not entirely unique (a preponderance centers around some variation of overuse), the artist’s indelible characterization contributes significant charm. Indeed, Jeffers’ ability to communicate emotion in simple gestures, even on a skinny cylinder of wax, elevates crayon drawing to remarkable heights. First-class bookmaking, with clean design, ample trim size, and substantial paper stock, adds to the quality feel. A final spread sees all things right, as Duncan fills a page with bright, delightful imagery, addressing each of the crayons’ issues and forcing them into colorful cooperation. Kids who already attribute feelings to their playthings will never look at crayons the same way again. Grades K-3. --Thom Barthelmess

Review

Goodreads'' 2013 Picture Book of the Year!

Amazon''s Best Picture Book of the Year!

A Barnes & Noble Best Book of 2013!

Winner of the E.B. White Read-Aloud Award

* “Hilarious . . . Move over,  Click, Clack, Moo; we’ve got a new contender for the most successful picture-book strike.” – BCCB, starred review 

“Jeffers . . . elevates crayon drawing to remarkable heights.” – Booklist

“Fresh and funny.” – The Wall Street Journal

"This book will have children asking to have it read again and again.” – Library Media Connection

* “This colorful title should make for an uproarious storytime.” – School Library Journal, starred review 

* “These memorable personalities will leave readers glancing apprehensively at their own crayon boxes.” – Publishers Weekly, starred review 

“Utterly original.” – San Francisco Chronicle

About the Author

Although Drew Daywalt grew up in a haunted house, he now lives in a Southern California home, haunted by only his wife, two kids, and German Shepherd. He is the author of the blockbuster hit The Day the Crayons Quit as well as The Day the Crayons Came Home and The Crayons'' Christmas. His favorite crayon is Black.

Oliver Jeffers makes art and tells stories. From his much-loved debut, How to Catch a Star he has gone on to create a collection of award-winning and bestselling picture books, which have been translated all over the globe, including the #1 New York Times bestseller and TIME Best Book of the Year Here We Are. Oliver is from Belfast, Northern Ireland, and now lives and works in Brooklyn, New York, with his wife and young children.

Product information

The 2021 Day sale the Crayons Quit sale

The 2021 Day sale the Crayons Quit sale

The 2021 Day sale the Crayons Quit sale

The 2021 Day sale the Crayons Quit sale